Chocolate Chip Cookies (and Dietary Restrictions)

This is probably a good time to say something about what I eat, what kinds of recipes you’ll find on this blog (if there is ever anyone reading this blog).

I’m gluten intolerant. I don’t keep a perfectly gluten-free kitchen, but I avoid eating wheat. I figured out pretty quickly that I hate most “gluten-free” foods. In particular, I think the gluten-free flour mixes that contain potato flours, which are the ones most people use, make everything taste like potato kugel.

So, for the most part, I eat foods that never had gluten in them to begin with. Lots of rice, rice noodles, corn (tortillas, arepas, corn on the cob), potatoes, quinoa. My boyfriend calls this “gluten freedom” instead of just “gluten-free” eating because we aren’t even trying to eat things that usually have gluten in them.

I do, however, really like baking. More often than not, this means I bake cakes and cookies for other people since I can’t eat them.

While we are on dietary restrictions, you’ll also mostly find vegetarian recipes on this site. I have gone through all sorts of different vegetarian phases in my life, mostly for environmental reasons. Right now, I don’t eat mammals and I only eat poultry from the local farmers market. This keeps my meat consumption pretty low.

But, enough with restrictions. Yesterday it was raining and after a morning in the archives, I really just wanted to bake something comforting.That’s when I remembered the bag of mesquite flour sitting my cabinet and a recipe for mesquite chocolate chip cookies I had seen.


Mesquite flour is made from the dried, ground pods of the Mesquite tree. Most recipes that use it also call for regular flour as well. Because it’s fairly strong and nutty I find that it overpowers–and, in my opinion, therefore works well with–gluten-free flours. I have also made cornbread and pancakes with it. (In case you’re interested, when I do the very occasional gluten free baking I do, I use this gluten free pancake mix because there is no potato flour in it. Whenever possible though, I use almond meal which I think is delicious.)

Anyway, I decided to give the mesquite flour cookies a gluten-free spin. I think they turned out better than any other gluten-free cookie I’ve had.

Gluten Free Mesquite Chocolate Chip Cookies (Adapted from David Lebovitz, who adapted it from Heidi Swanson)

Ingredients:

– 2 cups gluten-free flour

– 1 cup mesquite flour

– ½ cup almond meal

– ½ teaspoon baking soda**

– ½ teaspoon baking powder**

– 8 ounces butter, room temperature

– 2 cups sugar

– 3 large eggs

– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 2 cups rolled oat

– 2 cups chocolate chips

** My gluten-free flour mix has some baking soda and baking powder in it, but I never know how much so I halved the baking soda and baking powder amounts. If your mix doesn’t have baking soda and powder, you’ll want to double those amounts.

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • Mix flours, almond meal, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  • With an electric mixer cream butter, then add sugar slowly, and eggs one at a time. Add vanilla and mix until smooth.
  • Add the flour mixture one cup at a time.
  • Mix in oats chocolate chips. I quit using an electric mixer at this point and did it with a combination of a wooden spoon and my hands. The dough gets very thick.
  • Drop 2 tablespoon rounds of batter onto baking sheet.
  • Bake 12-15 minutes until just beginning to brown. They will look quite wobbly when you take them out.
  • Cool and eat.
Leave a Reply

