Strawberry Lemon Polenta Cake

The heat wave that everyone has been worrying about hit this morning, and it is brutal outside. I suppose the smart  way to prepare for the heat would have been making popsicles, or doing my laundry, but instead I decided to bake a cake.

It’s my friend’s birthday tonight, and I decided that last night was likely one of the last moments that I would be willing to even contemplate turning on my oven this summer. So, to mark both occasions, I turned to my favorite gluten-free cake.

I discovered this lemon polenta cake when baking for my own birthday in December. It confirms my general belief that the best gluten-free baked goods are those that lack gluten because they never needed it in the first place. It doesn’t call for any wacky ingredients like Xantham gum. It’s a totally simple combination of polenta, almond meal, and eggs doused in a citrus syrup.

The original recipe is from Nigella Lawson. Since my birthday I’ve made it a number of different ways depending on the season. All winter, I made it with an orange syrup and candied orange peel, but for summer I thought it needed an update. The birthday girl requested strawberries, and so this strawberry-lemon polenta cake was born.

I baked it last night and then I turned off the oven, probably for a good long while.

Strawberry Lemon Polenta Cake: 

Ingredients:

– 1 3/4 sticks softened butter (14 tablespoons)

– 1 cup sugar

– 2 cups almond meal/flour

– 3/4 cup polenta (or cornmeal)

– 3 eggs

– 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

– 5 or 6 strawberries thinly sliced

For Syrup: 

– 2 lemons

– 1 cup powdered sugar

*** You’ll want to cook this in a 9-inch springform pan and  you really do want a springform pan as this is hard to get out of a regular pan.

  •  Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  •  Butter pan and set aside
  •  Mix together polenta, almond meal and baking powder
  •  In a big mixing bowl (or using a stand mixer) cream butter and sugar together until smooth.
  •  Add about a quarter of the polenta-almond meal mixture to the butter and mix until fully blended.
  •  Add an egg and another cup of the polenta-almond meal mixture to the batter and mix until fully blended.
  • Repeat, adding each egg and the polenta-almond meal mixture until it is all mixed together.
  • Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes.
  • While cake bakes combine the juice of 2 lemons and the cup of powdered sugar in a small pot and bring to a boil. When the powdered sugar dissolves set aside.
  • At 30 minutes, remove cake and arrange strawberries on top of the cake.
  • Return cake to oven and bake for 10 more minutes until the sides brown and begin to pull away from the pan. The center may still look a little undone when you remove it but it will set.
  • Remove from oven and poke small holes all over cake with toothpick. Pour syrup over cake and allow to cool before taking it out of  pan.
  • I think this cake is best if it is allowed to cool overnight.
2 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemon Polenta Cake

  1. Pingback: And I’m Back… « An Overdetermined Life

Leave a Reply

