End of Summer Cobbler

After all the grumpy moving, we took off for the beach.

Image

I used to hate summer. Every year, my family moved up to Rhode Island the minute school ended. I would spend the next three months missing my friends and reading upwards of 40 books a summer. (This explains a lot.) 

Thankfully, I have grown to love and appreciate the beach, fresh fish, berries, and the smell of sunscreen, but I still remember just how much I loved the return drive from Rhode Island at the end of every summer. I got to buy a Milky Way bar at the Mobil station we stopped at before leaving the state–marking the end of a summer filled with paper bags full of Sweedish fish and sour watermelon slices bought for a penny at the Marina. But, my favorite thing, was rolling down the window when we got off the highway and were finally home. 

I remembered that last week as we drove back into Boston late at night. I rolled down the window as we pulled off the highway and realized the air actually felt cool. 

Back in New Haven, it still mostly feels like summer but there are lots of portents of approaching fall–like Noah starting school tomorrow. So, at the farmers market I decided I had to seize the moment and buy bunches of berries, peaches and plums. 

Image

Last night, I made a cobbler of the peaches and plums. I used spelt flour, which I’ve realized I can eat and which makes it feel almost wholesome. While it is decidedly not actually healthy, it is less sweet than a milky way bar. Nonetheless, it is still an appropriate way to mark the end of summer. 

Peach and Plum Spelt Cobbler:

For the fruit: 

– 4 smallish plums

– 3 peaches

– 1/2 a lemon

– 1/3 cup brown sugar

– 1 tablespoon butter

For the topping: 

– 1 cup spelt flour

– 1 1/2 tea spoons baking powder

– 1 tablespoon sugar

– 4 tablespoons butter

– 1/3 cup milk 

– Sprinkling of sugar and cinnamon 

* Slice fruit into relatively large chunks. 

* Toss fruit with brown sugar and lemon juice until well coated and arrange in 8 x 8 inch baking dish. 

* Cut tablespoon of butter into small chunks and sprinkle over fruit. 

* In a bowl mix dry ingredients for biscuits together. 

* Cut butter into dry ingredients and mix with hands until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. 

* Whisk in milk until dough pulls off of sides of bowl. 

* Drop dough in 9 small rounds over fruit. 

* Sprinkle sugar and cinnamon over tops of biscuits lightly. 

* Bake for about 25 minutes until tester inserted into biscuit comes out clean. 

* Serve with whipped cream or ice cream. 

Leave a Reply

