Mayonnaise-less, Brussel Sprout, Apple, Walnut Slaw

Since we are discussing end of summer/beginning of fall recipes (and using up apples) let’s talk about this slaw.

This summer, I was on a mission to invent some coleslaws that achieved classic potluck coleslaw level creamy-ness without mayonnaise. Driving this mission, was my deep love for cabbage and my deep hatred for mayonnaise as a salad binding agent. Sure, I like to dunk fried potatoes in inappropriate amounts of aioli, but for whatever reason I shutter when faced with salads–whether or tuna or cabbage based–coated in mayonnaise. In July, I decided that 20 years of mayonnaise salad aversion had forced me to pass up too much cabbage and it was time to do something  about it.

Since then I have been tinkering with how to make sufficiently creamy coleslaws by combining all sorts of cabbage with various nut-based dressings. For Noah’s birthday, I tried red cabbage with tahini and parmesan, which worked pretty well, but which I have not quite perfected. For lunch one week, I experimented with a broccoli and peanut slaw, which also still needs work. For our potluck break fast tonight, however, I think I nailed it.

To make this I used a miso-walnut dressing from 101 Cookbooks that I learned about last year from BigGirlsSmallKitchen. I made the original recipe for this dressing with soba noodles a lot last winter, and I suddenly remembered it a few weeks ago as the perfect creamy dressing with no mayo or cream. So, last night, I tossed it with shaved brussel sprouts and finely chopped apple and let it sit for 24 hours. Today, it tastes like my dream coleslaw. Creamy, sweet and savory all at once but with no mayo at all. Perfect for the last round of picnics.

Brussel Sprout, Apple, Walnut Slaw:

– 10 ounces brussel sprouts

– 1 mutsu apple

– Handful of walnuts

For dressing: (From 101Cookbooks via BigGirlsSmallKitchen)

– 1/2 cup walnuts (The original recipe calls for them toasted. I do not have a toaster and am generally too lazy to toast them in the oven or even a pan. It has never been a problem.)

– 1/4 cup olive oil

– 2 cloves garlic

– 2 tablespoons white miso paste

– 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

– 1 teaspoon honey

– 1/ 4 cup warm water

* Mix all the ingredients for the dressing together in the blender until smooth.

* Finely chop apple and put in large bowl.

* Remove brussel sprout ends and any bad leaves. Cut each brussel sprout in half and then slice into fine slivers.

* Add slivered brussel sprouts to apple and toss to mix.

* Add walnut-miso dressing and toss until brussel sprouts and apples are finely coated.

* Cover and refrigerate over night.

* Toss a handful of walnuts on top before serving.

3 thoughts on “Mayonnaise-less, Brussel Sprout, Apple, Walnut Slaw

  1. Pingback: Easy Meal for One: Roast Celeriac and Egg “Salad” (Also Paris) | An Overdetermined Life

  2. Pingback: New York | An Overdetermined Life

  3. Pingback: Red Cabbage, Pinto Bean, and Tahini Slaw | An Overdetermined Life

Leave a Reply

