Garlicky Habanero-Lemon Hummus

Image

Being in my mid-late twenties means there are lots of weddings to go to and lots of people suggesting that maybe it’s time I start thinking about getting married myself. Generally, I feel a bit young for that, but when I’m using my blender for something that would clearly do better in a food processor sometimes I wonder if it’s time to cash in my relationship for a lot of new kitchen supplies. Most recently, I have thought about this while while making hummus.

I know that really no one needs a recipe for hummus so think of this post more as a plug for you to make your own hummus. I have long thought that people who make their own hummus–like my mother, for example–are kind of wasting their time. After all, there are lots of perfectly acceptable, even delicious, hummuses to be bought for not very much money. But, about a month ago I was running late for a potluck and threw a can of chickpeas into the blender with some olive oil, garlic, and a habanero pepper and suddenly I was obsessed. I’ve been making it weekly since.

The thing about making your own hummus is you really can make it whatever you want. I recommend blending some chickpeas and olive oil together and tasting it before you decide what you want to add. It tastes elemental and full of possibility. You don’t have to settle for hummus that is too oily or that includes tahini (as most store bought hummus does and which I don’t love) if you don’t want to. You can make it garlicky, spicy and sour to degrees that most people would find unacceptable.

Sure, it’s kind of a pain to make without a food processor. Not complicated, just loud. You have to hover over your blender with a spoon, pushing the chickpeas down and blending till your sick of the noise and pretty sure that, even if you are ready to register for a food processor, your boyfriend has now decided that spending a life with this kind of noise is not worth it.

But at the end of all the grinding, you have hummus for a week. You can eat it every day for lunch and congratulate yourself for having what you want instead of what everyone else does.

Garlicky Habanero-Lemon Hummus 

(If you really want hummus for a week, I would double this recipe.) 

– 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

– 4 smallish cloves garlic

– 6 tablespoons olive oil

– 1/2 lemon

– 1/4 habanero pepper

– Salt to taste

* Blend chickpeas and olive oil until they form a smooth paste. (If you are doing it in a blender, you’ll probably have to push the chickpeas down with a spoon periodically in order to get them all to blend.)

* Add garlic, salt, and habanero and blend.

* Add lemon and blend until hummus is the texture you want and/or you’ve grown sick of the grinding noise.

 

3 thoughts on “Garlicky Habanero-Lemon Hummus

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Soup with Broccoli (or an extremely smooth hummus) | An Overdetermined Life

  2. Pingback: Lemony Italian Chickpea Soup | An Overdetermined Life

  3. Pingback: Toasted Sesame Oil Hummus | An Overdetermined Life

Leave a Reply

