Roasted Coriander Tomato Soup

Even though it’s now clearly fall–closed toed shoes out, down vests on–there are still tomatoes hanging on at the farmers market, or there were last week. As long as they are there, I’m buying.

Since I discovered this Orangette recipe, the only way I have wanted to cook tomatoes is by tossing them with a bunch of olive oil, salt, and coriander and roasting them in the oven until I get bored. Then I toss them on some sort of grain, or eat them with eggs, or both, as I did here. But, really, I’m in it to scrape the leftover tomato/oil/coriander drippings off the bottom of the pan and eat them with a spoon. Goodbye last-shred of dignity.

Last weekend I came home with a box of those slightly-larger-than-cherry-tomato sized heirloom tomatoes. On my way home, I decided that if I could figure out a way to turn those coriander roasted tomatoes into soup, I might be able to slurp those drippings down and make it look classy. 

I’m not sure I can call this soup is classy, but it is, in my opinion perfect. It’s incredibly simple to make, but so much better than cans of tomato soup, which are often a bit too sweet for me. I was prepared to add cream to the recipe, but by the time I was done blending it together it tasted so creamy I skipped it and instead threw in two tablespoons of slightly-past-its-prime red wine which gave it a bit of a sour kick.

We ate it with these, which are kind of like grilled cheese sandwiches for people who can’t eat gluten.

Roasted Coriander Tomato Soup (Serves 2 as a main course, but could easily be doubled.)

– 1 quart sized box of small tomatoes

– About a teaspoon of coriander and a big pinch of salt

– 4 cloves of garlic

– 1 tablespoon butter

– 1 tablespoon olive oil + more for roasting

– 2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

– 2 large pinches of thyme

– 2 tablespoons red wine

– Salt and pepper to taste

* Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

* Cut tomato in half and toss with a hefty drizzle of olive oil, coriander and salt. You want all the tomatoes coated with the spices and olive oil.

* Roast in oven for 25-30 minutes.

* When tomatoes are just about done, mince garlic.

* Heat oil and melt butter in large pot.

* Add garlic to oil/butter mixture.

* When garlic is beginning to brown add tomatoes to pot being sure to scrape all the juices they have let off into the pot. Toss with garlic mixture.

* Add two cups of broth, two big pinches of thyme and pepper to taste.

* Simmer for about 20 minutes.

* Remove from heat and either blend until smooth with an immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender.

* Return to simmer and stir in 2 tablespoons of wine.

* Enjoy.

One thought on “Roasted Coriander Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: Monday and Tuesday Nights: Tomatoes! | An Overdetermined Life

Leave a Reply

