Tiny Potatoes with Mint and Pea Pesto

When I’m away for an extended period of time, I start bookmarking recipes like a crazy person. At home, I cook through the recipes I’m interested in and bookmark others at a reasonable pace. Stuck in a hotel for two weeks, the bookmarking reaches a frenzied pace. I start to keep a running list of all the things I’m going to makewhen I have my own oven. No matter how well I’m eating, I miss my kitchen.

I just got back from two wonderful weeks in Madison, Wisconsin where I was very well fed on cheese and ice cream but kept dreaming of coming home and cooking vegetables. Now that I’m back I’ve been in full nesting mode on and offline. As you can see, I’ve redesigned this website a bit. Offline, I’ve searched for a tablecloth; stocked our fridge (ok we’ve visited no less than three grocery stores and a farmers market in the last 48 hours); and made salad, bread, coffee cake, and this.

P1050924

This dish of tiny potatoes tossed in mint and pea pesto was inspired by this recipe from Dinner: A Love Story, which I bookmarked in the midst of the frenzy last week. Since I’m not cooking for kids, I spiced the pesto up with Cayenne pepper, garlic, and extra lemon juice. Since I went gluten-free, I have loved pesto on potatoes instead of pasta. I found these tiny potatoes at Trader Joe’s and they seemed like the perfect vehicle for getting a good pesto to potato ratio, but you could use any fingerling potato roughly chopped.

We ate the potatoes with a side of sausage and mustard and wine straight from the bottle on our newly discovered roof deck. Sometime in the middle of next winter, I’ll look back on this post and remember what summer feels like. Then I’ll remember that I used frozen peas and packaged mint and that we are lucky enough to be able to eat this fundamentally summer-y dish year round.

Tiny Potatoes with Mint and Pea Pesto: 

Adapted from Dinner: A Love Story. 

– 1 1/2 cups frozen peas

– 1 cup fresh mint leaves

– 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

– Juice of 1 lemon

– 2 large garlic cloves

– Pinch of Cayenne Pepper

– Salt to taste

– 1 pound small potatoes. (I used Trader Joe’s tiny potatoes, but any fingerlings would really do.)

* Place cleaned potatoes in a pot of cold water. Bring water to a boil. Reduce to simmer and cook for 25 minutes. Test. Potatoes should be soft, but hold their shape. If done, drain potatoes and roughly chop into large pieces.

* While potatoes boil, blend the rest of the ingredients together until you have a thick pesto, about the thickness of humus. (It will be cold from the frozen peas, but will warm up when it hits the hot potatoes.)

* Toss about half the pesto (or more to taste) with the potatoes. Save the rest for some other delicious use.

* Drizzle the potatoes with more olive oil and salt to taste.

Leave a Reply

