Radicchio, Eggs, and Potatoes with Anchovy-Rosemary Aioli

I think this is my new perfect summer meal.

radicchio

I have long read descriptions of aioli feasts in Provence where the entire meal is boiled vegetables, fish, and eggs with a side of aioli dipping sauce. I’ve always thought that sounded lovely. Once I even tried to make it. But at the end of the day, I don’t love boiled vegetables and I’m very picky about how and where I like my mayonnaise. I still like the principle behind it though.

This weekend, as we were trying to drum up ideas for dinner, I mentioned a recipe I had seen in Saveur for radicchio with a rosemary-anchovy dipping sauce. So many of my favorite ingredients at once! We decided to try and make a meal of it by roasting some potatoes and boiling some eggs.

Since we lack a mortar and pestle I ended up using a blender, which transformed the olive oil and anchovies from the dressing I was imagining into something with the texture of aioli.

We ate it on our roof deck with roast potatoes, radicchio and hardboiled eggs. I wrapped radicchio leaves around some of the eggs before dipping. We washed it all down with wine. It was, indeed, lovely.

Radicchio, Eggs, and Potatoes with Anchovy-Rosemary Aioli: (Lightly adapted from this Saveur article

– 4 hardboiled eggs

– 4 yukon gold potatoes

– 1 head of radicchio

– 2 oz tin flat filet anchovies

– Juice of 1 lemon

– 2 tablespoons dried rosemary leaves (fresh would also probably be nice too)

– 1/3-2/3 cups olive oil

* Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

* Slice the potatoes width wise into rounds. Drizzle with olive oil (but do not salt) and arrange on a baking sheet. Bake potatoes until they get crispy and brown, about 30 minutes.

* Roughly quarter and core radicchio and separate the leaves.

* Combine anchovies, lemon, and rosemary in a blender and pulse until roughly chopped. While blending, slowly drizzle in olive oil. We ended up using close to 2/3s cups of olive oil, but taste it after the first third of a cup to see what you think. After the first 1/3 we added oil to make it less strong.

* Serve sauces with potatoes, boiled eggs, and radicchio.

Leave a Reply

